Industry Service Award/Man of the Year

2014Linda Gaston, Arkansas HBPA, President
2013David Basler, Ohio HBPA, Executive Director
2012Dr. Reid McLellan, The Elite Program
2011Martin Maline, Kentucky HBPA, Executive Director
2010Bill Walmsley, Arkansas HBPA, President
2009Rick Hiles, Kentucky HBPA, President
2009Frank Petramalo, Virginia HBPA, Executive Director
2008Dr. Thomas Tobin, University of Kentucky
2008Kent Stirling, Florida HBPA, Executive Director
2007Robert Reeves, Ohio HBPA, Director
2006Tom Metzen, Sr., Minnesota HBPA, President
2005Bryan McAfee, Canada HBPA, Executive Director
2002Joe Santanna, National HBPA, Secretary/Treasurer
2001Dale Baird (trainer)
1999Bob Lee, Nebraska HBPA


YearAward Winner
2015Ron Maus, Secretary/Treasurer, NHBPA/Washington
2015Phil Hanrahan, CEO, National HBPA
2014Tom Metzen, Jr., Natl. Insurance Advisor
2013Justin Cassity, Executive Director, Oklahoma HBPA
2012Joe Santanna, President, National HBPA
2012Richard Glover, Editor, The Horsemen's Journal magazine
2012Sam "Sammy" Gordon, President, Florida HBPA
2011Alabama HBPA, New Board of Directors
2010Bill Walmsley, President, Arkansas HBPA
2010Pierre "Peb" Bellocq, Racing Artist
2009Randy Sampson, Canterbury Park, Support of the Claiming Crown
2009Charles Town HBPA, Hosting Summer Convention
2009Florida HBPA, Hosting Winter Convention
2008Winter - Larry Hillis– Past-President, Washington HBPA
2008Summer – Charles E. Bailey, Charles Town HBPA
2007Winter – Dr. Ed Hagan - National HBPA, Chairman Emeritus
2006Summer - John Roark - Texas Horsemen’s Partnership
2005Dr. Ed Hagan - National HBPA, Chairman Emeritus
2005Stirling J
2004Janene & Dick Watson – Charles Town HBPA
2003Dr. Thomas Tobin - National HBPA, National Medication Advisor
2003Jim Gelpi – Louisiana HBPA, General Counsel

National HBPA Claimer of the Year

2014St. Borealis(2010 Bay Mare by War Chant-Saintly Bride
(Saint Ballado))
Ken & Sarah RamseyMichael MakerR-Cher Family Farm (KY Bred)
2012Saginaw(2006 Bay Gelding by Peruvian-Devilzene
(Devil’s Bag))
Drawing Away Stable & JacobsonDavid JacobsonTed Taylor (NY Bred)
2011 Special Recognition AwardRapid Redux(2006 Ch. Gelding by Pleasantly Perfect-Thiscatsforcaryl
(Storm Cat))
Robert L. Cole, Jr.David J. WellsFortress Pacific Equine, LLC (Ky Bred)
2010Kate's Main Man(2005 Bay Gelding by Bernstein-Kate d’ Kate (D’Accord))Randy PattersonRandy MorseLoretta McClintock (Iowa Bred)
2009No Flies On Doodle(2006 Dk Bay/Brown Mare by Storm Blast -- Chedoodle (Slewdledo))WA by Keith Swagerty, West Coast Racing LLC; Vann BelvoirVann BelvoirWA by Keith Swagerty, West Coast Racing LLC
2008Antrim County(2003 Ch. Gelding by Giant’s Causeway-Bright Feather (Fappiano))Carl R. Moore Management LLCW. B Calhoun
2007Lady Blue Sky(2002 Ch. Mare by Bidding Proud – Jimmy’s Blue Sky (Roman Reasoning))Don & Windy RobersonDon Roberson
2006Cort's P.B.(2000 gr. gelding by Huff – Paula Gnome (Mr. Paul))Maggi MossPatrick Mouton
2005Silver Axe(1997 gr. gelding by Silver Ghost – Athabasca (Dewan Keys))Maggi MossThomas Amoss
2001Revillew Slew(1996 dk bay/br. mare by Can’t Be Slew – Mischief Mud (Mud and Water)Larry & Gay WelliverMike Harrington
2000Shot of Gold(1995 dk bay/br. horse by Jolie’s Halo – Sugar is Gold (Slew o’ Gold))Tom & Karen Metzen & Mr. & Mrs. John VossDavid Van Winkle
1999Lambana(1994 dk bay/br. mare by Image of Greatness – Flowing Melody (Eternal Prince))Marshall & Suzanne Novak & Gary JacksonMarshall L. Novak
1998Elvigor(1994 bay gelding by Badger Land – Elvahra (Vigors))Jim R. RobinsonJeff Mullins
1991Slew the Slewor(1987 bay horse by Slew o’ Gold – Featherhill (Lyphard))Irish Acres FarmP. N. Hickey
1990Snipledo(1985 dk bay/br. gelding by Slewledo – Northwest Snipper (Canadian Gil))Robert ResoffMarion L. Smith
1989Caltech(1986 chestnut horse by Explosive Bid – Starpiece (Shredder))David Romanik, Bradford & Stewart BeillyLeo Azpurua
1988Gene(1983 bay horse by Fappiano – Sioux City Su (Native Charger))Gary PatrickGary Patrick
1987Coryphee(1984 dk bay/br. horse by Syncopate – Natalba (Bye and Near))San-Car StablesSam Di Pasquale
1986Novel Sprite(1983 bay mare by Text – Spritzer (Portsmouth))Jerry Hollendorfer, Lee Tucker, & Bob WongJerry Hollendorfer
1985Rolling Road(1981 chestnut horse by Dancing Count – Swiss Maid (Dotted Swiss))Dick VermillionRon Alfano
1984Birdie's Legend(1981 chestnut horse by Proud Birdie – Precious Mongo (Mongo))Steve Young
1983Maxim Gorky(1978 gray horse by Ack Ack – Pampa Grey (Grey Dawn II))Sam G. WongTom Browne
1982Sprink(1978 bay gelding by Canadian Gil – Sprinkle Power (Balance of Power))Irving PaparoEugene Coladonato
1981 (tie)Cadet Corps(1978 bay horse by Irish Stronghold – Barn Swallow (Mongo))Fernand ChretienWayne Granger
1981 (tie)He Snow Stopper(1975 chestnut horse by Snow Sporting – Pepper Step (Poona II))Pay SawyerKim Wilson
1980Perennial(1967 bay gelding by The Pimpernel – Routine II (Ruthless))Teresa AbnerWalter Abner
1979Luvinheriseasy(1976 chestnut mare by Forzar – Miss Kinetic (Three Bagger))Bill MartucciJim Crupi
1978Romeo Jason(1972 bay horse by Gallant Romeo – Donee (Daumier))Edward “Mickey” StrainCharley Baddeley
2010 (Western Region)Bijou Barrister(2006 Dk. Bay/Br. Gelding by Tribunal-On the Big Screen (Chequer))H.R. “Pat” Mullens, Richard “Swede” Larson & Ed ZenkerH.R. “Pat” MullensCzech-Mate Stables (WA Bred)