The National HBPA, Inc. and the National Horsemen's Administration Corporation 2013 Winter Convention were brought to order by National HBPA President Robin Richards. Laura Plato took attendance and the following people were present:

Voting Members:

Robin Richards – National HBPA Leroy Gessmann - Central VP/Iowa HBPA Linda Gaston – Arkansas HBPA Dr. David Harrington – Alabama HBPA Tom Metzen, Sr. – Arizona HBPA per proxy Mel Snow – Canada HBPA per proxy Randy Funkhouser – Charles Town HBPA Dave Brown - Finger Lakes HBPA Phil Combest – Florida HBPA John Wainwright - Illinois HBPA Joe Davis - Indiana HBPA Keith Gee - Louisiana HBPA per proxy **Marty Maline - Kentucky HBPA per proxy Tom Metzen, Sr. - Minnesota HBPA John Baird – Mountaineer HBPA Lvnne Schuller - Nebraska HBPA per proxv Dave Basler - Ohio HBPA per proxy Danielle Barber – Oklahoma HBPA per proxy Conrad Cohen - Ontario HBPA per proxy Tim Shea - Pennsylvania HBPA Bob Jeffries - Tampa Bay HBPA Frank Petramalo – Virginia HBPA *per proxy* MaryAnn O'Connell – WA HBPA per proxy

Also in Attendance: Phil Hanrahan - National HBPA, CEO Laura Plato – National HBPA, Ops Director Robert Scott, National HBPA, Accountant Peter Ecabert – National HBPA, Counsel Denis Blake – *The Horsemen's Journal* Jennifer Allen – *The Horsemen's Journal* Loretta Brennan – Arkansas HBPA Maria Catignani – Charles Town HBPA Austin Reed - Finger Lakes HBPA Kent Stirling – Florida HBPA Mike Brown – Indiana HBPA Jon Moss – Iowa HBPA Ed Fenasci – Louisiana HBPA Patrice Underwood – Minnesota HBPA Jana Tetrault – Mountaineer HBPA Shelly Hosch - Nebraska HBPA Todd Mostoller- Pennsylvania HBPA Frank Petramalo – Virginia HBPA Tom LaMarra – *The Blood-Horse*

Not in Attendance: Stephanie Beattie - Eastern VP Rick Hiles - Southern VP/Kentucky HBPA Ron Maus – Western VP/Washington HBPA Lloyd Yother - Arizona HBPA David Milburn – Canada HBPA Mark McGregor - Colorado Horsemen's Association Mark Buckley – Idaho HBPA Stanley Seelig - Louisiana HBPA Doug Barron – Michigan HBPA Gary Tinkle – Michigan HBPA R.C. 'Dick' Forster - Montana HBPA Todd Veerhusen - Nebraska HBPA Anthony Spadea, Jr. - New England HBPA Bruce Patten - New England HBPA Eric Mikkelson – New Mexico HA Jack McGrail - New Mexico HA Tim Hamm – Ohio HBPA Bob Reeves – Ohio HBPA Sue Leslie - Ontario HBPA Steve Fisher – Oregon HBPA Dr. Tommy Hays- Texas Horsemen's Partnership Marsha Rountree - Texas Horsemen's Partnership David Ross - Virginia HBPA Stephanie Nixon – Virginia HBPA

1. Motion to ratify the minutes of the 2012 NHBPA Summer Full Board meeting held in Altoona, IA on Sunday, July 1, 2012.

Motioned by Frank Petramalo. Seconded by Leroy Gessmann. Motion Passed Unanimously.

**Marty Maline (KY) exited the meeting after the Bylaw Committee Report

Claiming Crown Report - Kent Stirling, Florida HBPA, verbal

2. Motion to approve the Dues Reduction Criteria that was approved by the Full Board via conference call 11/5/12.

Motioned by Tom Metzen, Sr. Seconded by Robert Jeffries. Motion Passed Unanimously.

President's Report - Robin Richards

- Thanks to National HBPA Sponsors
- Thanks to Tampa Bay HBPA Robert Jeffries, Linda Mayhew and Board
- Thanks to Tampa Bay Downs racetrack
- Claiming Crown discussion
- Kudos to our Executive Directors who work tirelessly

CEO's Report – Phil Hanrahan

- Thanks to Tampa Bay HBPA Robert Jeffries, Linda Mayhew and Board
- Thanks to Convention Sponsors
- 2012 NHBPA financial status report
- ASTM Safety Reins

- Benefit Providers Report MaryAnn O'Connell, co-Chair, verbal
- Audit Committee Report Todd Mostoller, Chair
- **3.** Motion to accept and ratify the Audit Committee's recommendation of the engagement letters from CPA Charles Krblich to do the audit for the fiscal & calendar year ending December 31, 2012.

Motioned by Tom Metzen, Sr. Seconded by Lynne Schuller. Motion Passed Unanimously.

4. Motion to ratify the Committee's recommended bylaw changes as covered by the Audit Committee, outlining and expanding this committee's duties.

Motioned by Frank Petramalo. Seconded by Linda Gaston. Motion Passed Unanimously.

- Bylaw Report Peter Ecabert, Committee Advisor
- **5.** Motion to ratify the Bylaw Committee recommendation for the Dues Levels & Tier Seat bylaw changes as outlined.

Motioned by Bob Jeffries. Seconded by Phil Combest. Discussion. Marty Maline Opposed. Motion Passed.

6. Motion to ratify the indemnity bylaw changes as outlined in the Bylaw Committee meeting.

Motioned by Tom Metzen, Sr. Seconded by Conrad Cohen. Motion Passed Unanimously.

- Legislative Affairs Committee Report Frank Petramalo, co-Chair, verbal
 - a) HBPA group went to Capitol Hill with ACG in February 2013
 - b) Monitoring the Interstate Horseracing Act for movement
- Medication Committee Report Kent Stirling, Chair, verbal
 - a) Sensational Medication Workshop
 - b) Need honorarium support and travel expenses for guest speakers
 - c) Support Dr. Tobin's research, he's 501(c)3
 - d) List of prohibited medications in the convention binder
- 7. Motion that the 2013 Breeders' Cup continues to allow the use of Lasix.

Motioned by Frank Petramalo. Seconded by Leroy Gessmann. Motion Passed Unanimously.

- Model Rules Committee Report Dave Basler, Chair verbal
 - a) Attended ARCI Model Rules meeting in Tucson, AZ in December 2012
 - b) Lack of published scientific data startling
 - c) Claiming rule changing again
- National Insurance Committee Report Tom Metzen, Sr., Chair
 - a) Renewed Fire & Disaster Group Policy
 - b) Renewed Directors & Officers Group Policy
- 8. Motion to approve Lavin's Owner & Trainer Liability Program proposal as outlined, for three years. In the event the total annual premium is over \$400,000, the marketing contribution will increase to 8.5% in the following year and the excess monies (1%) should be directed to increasing the D&O Insurance reserve.

Motioned by Lynne Schuller. Seconded by Marty Maline. Motion Passed Unanimously.

9. Motion to go into Executive Session.

Motioned by Frank Petramalo. Seconded by Conrad Cohen. Motion Passed Unanimously.

*****************End Executive Session****************

New Business

- 2013 NHBPA Spring Executive Committee Meeting; Apr 9-10, Hyatt, Lexington, KY
- 2013 NHBPA Summer Convention, July 11-14, 2013, Mystic Lake Casino *Hosted by Minnesota HBPA*
- 10. Motion to go into Executive Session.

Motioned by Lynne Schuller. Seconded by Frank Petramalo. Motion Passed Unanimously.

11. Motion that all acts of the National HBPA, Inc.'s incorporator, officers and directors and all matters referred to in the Chairman's report, other officers reports and committee reports be ratified and approved.

Motioned by Robin Richards. Seconded by Joe Davis. Motion Passed Unanimously.

12. Motion to adjourn NHBPA and suspend roll call of the NHAC.

Motioned by Phil Combest. Seconded by Linda Gaston. Motion Passed Unanimously.

Chairman Robin Richards brought the meeting to order.

New/Old Business - none

1. Motion to adjourn the NHAC.

Motioned by Phil Combest. Seconded by Bob Jeffries. Motion Passed Unanimously.

************National HBPA Foundation*****************

NHBPA CEO Phil Hanrahan brought the meeting to order.

1. Motion to approve the appointment of the National Assistance Advisory Committee members as set forth on the current Committee list.

Motioned by Joe Davis. Seconded by Phil Combest. Motion Passed Unanimously.

2. Motion to approve the following appointments: President; Phil Hanrahan & Secretary/Treasurer; Laura Plato for the National HBPA Foundation.

Motioned by MaryAnn O'Connell. Seconded by Leroy Gessmann. Motion Passed Unanimously.

3. Motion to adjourn the National HBPA Foundation.

Motioned by MaryAnn O'Connell. Seconded by Tom Metzen, Sr. Motion Passed Unanimously.

Minutes prepared by Laura Plato and presented to President Robin Richards on March 20, 2013.

Robin Richards

Signed by:

March 20, 2013.

Robin Richards President & Chairman National HBPA, Inc.